Tags

, , , ,

I am one of the most grateful people in the world right now. I have finally started working in financial services again after 1,5 years in retail and successfully finished my qualification. Being extremely strong and perseverant has finally paid off and now I am full of with energy and would like to concentrate on my next goals.

image

This postcard is from my colleague who wished good luck for my final exam.

I have already started studying towards the Diploma in Regulated Financial Planning in my not so much spare-time, however, the so called ‘literary gipsy’ which is indeed my creative self has desperately started screaming again to be taken into account. I mean, my e-book about the comfort zone (Outside the bud – A guide for Introverts) is still just a draft but I would like to take a new approach to my ideas and will continue living in a close symbiosis with my special writing. My all time inspirations which are able to make my creative juices flowing (Writing Away from Lavinia Spalding and the album Division Bell from Pink Floyd) will be my loyal companion in the future as well if the writer’s block syndrome eventually starts knocking on my door.

And what is so fascinating about the comfort zone?
If you know the story about my arriving to London 2 years ago, you might say that I was extremely brave as I have jumped out of my rusty, old-fashioned cage what I had been creating for myself in the last couple of years. It’s true, it was a big challenge for me. However, it does not mean that my comfort zone has completely changed as I have found myself reacting in the same way to common or unfamiliar situations like before in spite of the fact that the faced challenges were downright rewarding.
What I am trying to say is that jumping out of your defending shelter and creating a new, more productive personal boundary is in fact absolutely not the same. The previous is just a one-time experience which is indeed a successful battle with the ‘Beat about the bush effect’ (check out this entry of mine for more information). The latter on the other hand requires a constant feeling of discomfort for a particular amount of time while your old, obsolete responses are continuously being replaced by a new, more conscious approach. This new approach soon becomes an automated involuntary action so the next time facing with a similar challenge, your response will be consistent with the newly learnt habit and this is the real sign of a new personal boundary.

image

A quick glance at my past entries shows some great ideas and remarkable raw materials in terms of this issue, however, I find them insufficient to create the core principles of my theory. So a more flexible and opened approach to study this topic further could even enrich my understanding of its essential attributes – the smooth defending mechanism in parallel with its invisible limiting effect.

I just recently came to the conclusion that conducting some kind of social experiments could be a beneficial enhancement to my research. As a person who’s mind is never empty and constantly pondering on several kinds of issues, I started wondering what would be the best researching method to be able to add more value to Outside the bud. 

I had a lot of concerns about approaching people on the street with the specific attitude of objectivity as it tends to be insufficient and less informative if the major aspect of my research is to gain thorough insight of personal boundaries. On the contrary, bombarding people with too intimate questions can even lead to awkwardness which can functionate as a hindrance of examining true behavioural responses. The venture of this research could also play an important role in creating my final theory: the centre of my attention is basically restricted to introverted people as the main subject of my research is to prove that introverts are all able to overcome any obstacles of their comfort zones and can create a new one with a more productive but safe place.

The mentioned aspects all need to be taken into account which makes this research a little bit hard to accomplish not to mention its time-consuming existence. Having known that Outside the Bud is a voluntary self-discovering journey of mine, I would like to keep my research as easy (and creative) as possible.

Under these circumstances, I have just invented the idea of the 40 Comfort zone Postcard Project. It means that every single month of this year, I would like to create 40 creative postcards and hide them in bookstores (within best-seller self-help books) so as somebody with a same interest buys a book will eventually have my postcard as well.

image

The first creative postcard of mine.

The idea is to create an online questionnaire in terms of the psychological attributes of the comfort zone and advertise its availability on my postcards. It is quite obvious that the result will not be as representative as it should be because not just introverted people will find my postcards, but taking into account the fact that the majority of the self-help book buyers are introverted, it has to be efficient enough to be used as a suitable source for my research.

Truth is, writing an interesting book has always been my biggest dream. However, I am not highly experienced in terms of the English language and projects in general so any kind of comments or advice in terms of research methods, online marketing or design would be very much appreciated from anybody.

