Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

If you have ever had the desire to play with words and create precious worlds with your imaginative mind, this post is definitely for you.

Everybody has a story to tell and I firmly believe that we are all able to facilitate the creative artists within ourselves. I would like to share with you some basic tips what can help you to unlock your full potential in terms of creative writing.

1. Read, read, read…

Reading different type of books and blogs what are in connection with your interests are beneficial in the path towards creativity. In addition, exploring the secret tips from professional writers are an indispensable part of this process.

As far as I am concerned, I used to ignore other authors’ writings in my native language because I always felt that I unintentionally lose my own voice and I was desperately trying to maintain my own style and create a distinctive emotional brand.

But the book about Creativity written by a Hungarian professor, Mihály Csíkszentmihályi, emphasizes the fact that your first step towards creativity is to learn the basics in an effective way then spice it up with your own, genuine ideas in order to create something innovative. Most importantly, reading professional writings helps to learn more complicated sentence structures what could be a beneficial lesson and helps to be seen more professional.

2. Be inspired…

In order to be creative almost all the time, we need constant inspiration. Everybody is different in terms of that, but you have to discover what really makes your creative juices flowing. It could be an interesting book, a professional conference, an art exhibition or just a long walk in the forest but you will definitely know which one is able to facilitate the creative activity of your subconscious mind. Try to deal with them regularly and you will see that the hidden doors of your creativity will soon open.

3. Have a notebook with you all the time…

As strange as it may sound but my most creative writings were made on trains and buses. The first time when I saw the word ‘Symbiosis’ in an advert from a bus it immediately made me wondered. Unfortunately I didn’t have any paper or journal with me so I had to write my ideas into my phone. Since then I always carry a notebook with myself and pay close attention to my muse whenever she wants to tell me something.

On the other hand, a beautiful journal can help you to feel creative whenever you take a quick look at it. I am really obsessed by colourful and artistic journals so I usually buy new ones.

Lavinia Spalding, the author of Writing Away advises to have a blank journal in order to not feel limited between the lines. It helps you to make drawings and create your own creative world without being restricted.

journal4. Practice…

In order to find your own voice and distinctive style, you have to stretch yourself and jump out your familiar boundaries. It basically means that you have to try a lot of things so that you can distinguish what is really you.

5. Don’t be afraid of the blank page syndrome…

As I mentioned in my earlier entry, I don’t believe in writer’s blocks. Chances are that infertile days, weeks, months or years occur without chronicling anything meaningful to the outside, however, it does not mean that there aren’t any ongoing war in the wild woods of the writer’s soul. So my core theory is that a writer’s mind is never empty, it is always observing and analyzing something, it is unstoppable. And the silent periods are indeed an inseparable part of any creative achievement where the purpose of the time is to ripen any meaningful realizations into something innovative. And the voice of the sacred muse can only be heard if the basics have been learnt spiced up with the ripening effect of time.

